The Return of the King’s

New signs of life at King’s Sandwich Shop: Closed since 2006, the legendary Durham eatery across from the old ball park was originally scheduled to re-open at the end of 2009. That was before new owner T.J. McDermott ran into construction obstacles and bureaucratic hurdles that delayed things for months.

But now it looks like our patience is about to be rewarded: new signs spotted in the window this week are promising a June opening…

 

…as well as some neat looking King’s t-shirts with a spiffy Will Fernandez graphic:

No menu information up in the windows or at King’s website yet, but feel free to stop by during the day to tell T.J. (who is there working most days) what you’d like them to serve. (I’m lobbying hard for the return of their fabled fried bologna sandwich.)

12 Responses to The Return of the King’s

  1. Devra says:

    Oh, yay! This makes me so excited. I have fond memories of going there for a hot dog and french fries with my Dad on Saturday afternoons.

  2. Monica Byrne says:

    I am SOOOO excited for this. Now we actors/volunteers can frenetically eat right before call time…and then waltz into the lobby on time 🙂 I think that whole strip from the Farmer’s Market to MBD is about to explode…

    • Ed says:

      Not sure they’ll be open evenings (at least to begin with), but maybe for Saturday workdays…

  3. Steve Graff says:

    Very exciting! Great T-shirt design (reminiscent of In-n-Out t’s). King’s should really get up on Twitter and Facebook stat! There is a rabid fan base hungry for info, and hungry for their food.

    • Ed says:

      I’m guessing T.J. has a full plate at the moment, but I’m sure they’ll have something up soon.

  4. RCHaynes says:

    I’d vote for a few vegetarian friendly sammies! pretty please! It’s so hard for a vegetarian to get anything but a salad or a veggie burger around here! ( A Tempeh Rueben would be awesome!)

    • Ed says:

      Rumor is that there will be a vegetarian component to the menu at some point (though they are probably going to start out with the basics).

  5. Dwayne says:

    Being born and raised in Durham and now living in NYC, I’m so stoked to hear that when I visit and eventually move home King’s will be back.

  6. Paulette says:

    I live in Illinois, but I’d fly (non-rev of course,) there if you’re serving sweet potatoe fries!!!

  7. […] long, long awaited re-opening of King’s Sandwich Shop is here! Above, some of the happy fast foodies […]

