“Pretty Good!” – S. Pepys

Nell Gwyn, by Simon Verelst

Samuel Pepys, 17th Century Theater Critic
The Island Princesse – John Fletcher – ★★★☆☆

Thursday January 7, 1669:

“…and thence my wife and I to the King’s playhouse, and there saw “The Island Princesse,” the first time I ever saw it; and it is a pretty good play, many good things being in it, and a good scene of a town on fire. We sat in an upper box, and the jade Nell come and sat in the next box; a bold merry slut, who lay laughing there upon people; and with a comrade of hers of the Duke’s house, that come in to see the play.”

via The Diary of Samuel Pepys

One Response to “Pretty Good!” – S. Pepys

  1. […] dinner abroad with my wife to the King’s playhouse, and there saw “The Island Princesse,” which I like mighty well, as an excellent play: and here we find Kinaston to be well enough to act again, which he do very […]